Goddard Scientific Colloquium Committee Charter

The Goddard Space Flight Center (GSFC) Scientific Colloquium Committee, also known as the Goddard Scientific Colloquium Committee, is established by authority of the Center Director. It operates under this Charter and the sponsorship of the Director of the Sciences and Exploration Directorate (SED).  Its establishment is recognized officially as appropriate for this Center, which has been at the forefront of research and exploration helping to lead the world to discover new knowledge about the Universe. Its purpose is to bring speakers on topics of broad interest to the Goddard and Washington area scientific communities, not limited to topics in the Earth and space sciences but covering the whole range of scientific endeavor.


The committee is chartered to:


The membership of the committee will consist of twelve Goddard Civil Servant (or contractor, if funding is available) scientists. 

The chairperson of the committee will be appointed by the Director of the SED.  The remaining members of the committee will be appointed by the Director of the SED or his/her designated representatives in consultation with the chairperson of the committee.  The membership of the committee will reflect the diverse range of space and Earth sciences of the Center.

Each member, including the chairperson, will serve for a period of 4 years.  The terms can be renewed, but renewal is not automatic.  The terms will be staggered so that 3 members of the committee are appointed each year.  In the case of a resignation from the committee, the vacant position will be filled as soon as possible, not waiting for the next cycle of appointments.  The beginning of the committee term will be July 1.

Opportunity to serve on the committee will be advertised among Civil Servant scientists in May of each year.  Expressions of interest will be addressed to the committee chairperson, who will present them to the Director of the SED or his/her designated representatives for consideration, with a decision to be made before July 1.



The committee will meet twice a year: one time in December to plan the Spring colloquium series and one time in May to plan the Fall-Winter series.  All other business of the committee will be conducted electronically


The committee chairperson is responsible for the overall functioning of the committee.  Duties of the chairperson include:

Return to the main page

usa.gov logo
+ NASA Privacy Statement, Disclaimer,
and Accessibility Certification
NASA logo

Curator: David J. Thompson
NASA Official: Phillip A Newman
Last Updated:Monday, March 16, 2009